Links & Local Interest

 

There are many places of interest in the local area, ranging from the historic City of Durham with its Castle and Cathedral to golf courses and the sea life center. The following attractions are all within an easy drive of the park.

 

Finchale Abbey (Priory)

 

In the 12th Century the hermit St Godric built a shelter here. Later a 13th century Benedictine Priory was established as a holiday retreat for monks from Durham cathedral. The priory now in ruins is run by English Heritage to preserve it for future generations.

http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/

 

 

 

Cocken Lodge Golf Course and Driving Range

 

 

This golf course is easily within walking distance of the caravan park and offers all you would expect from a nine hole course. The Golf course also has a bar which welcomes patrons of the caravan park, children also welcome.

Distance from Finchale Abbey – ten minute walk

http://www.cockenlodge.co.uk/

 

 

Durham City

 

 

The fabulous Cathedral and Castle towering above the medieval city, still echo the importance of Durham as the Prince Bishops' seat of power and government. Since 1836 the Castle has housed University College, the foundation college of England's third oldest University.

Distance from Finchale Abbey - approximately four miles.

Durham Tourism - http://www.durhamtourism.co.uk/

 

 Durham Cathedral - http://www.durhamcathedral.co.uk/

 

Durham Castle- http://www.durhamcastle.com


 Beamish open air Museum.

 

Beamish vividly recreates life in the North of England in the early 1800's and 1900's. Costumed staff welcome visitors to the turn of the century with a range of authentic shops and businesses. You can go underground to a real 'drift' mine or visit a housewife baking bread in the farmhouse kitchen. A visit to Beamish takes a full day and is enjoyable for all the family.

Distance from Finchale Abbey - approximately seven miles.

http://www.Beamish.org.uk

 

 

 

 

Bowes Museum - www.thebowesmuseum.org.uk

 

Virtual Durham - http://www.virtualdurham.co.uk

 

The University of Durham Botanic Gardens- http://www.dur.ac.uk/botanic.garden

 

Lumley Castle- http://www.lumleycastle.com

 

Metro Centre Shopping - http://www.metrocentre-gateshead.co.uk/

 

Killhope Wheel - http://www.durham.gov.uk/killhope

 

 

Washington Wildfowl Trust - http://www.wwt.org.uk/visit/washington/

 

 

 

 

 

Sponsored Links

Aycliffe Coach Works - http://www.aycliffe-coachworks.co.uk

Aycliffe Coachworks, service, damp test, and repair caravans and motorhomes. They also custom build and convert motorhomes, horseboxes and trailers to customers specifications’

 
Holiday Accommodation Directories. Hotels, Cottages, Caravan & Camping Sites and more!
British-Breaks.com & Ireland-Breaks.com
England | Scotland | Wales | N. Ireland | Rep. Ireland | British Isles

Home | Park Information | Touring Park | Self Catering | Pricing | Booking | Park Home Village | Fishing

Gallery | Pricing | Location | Park Homes For Sale | SIte Map | Contacts | Links

 

© Finchale Abbey 2013 All Rights Reserved